News Item

Inaugural Pacific Cooperation Foundation Youth Leadership Awards 2020

Success Stories 10 Dec 2020

The Pacific Cooperation Foundation (PCF) announced the winners for its Inaugural Pacific Cooperation Foundation Youth Leadership Awards at Parliament last night.

The awards ceremony was hosted by the Hon. Aupito William Sio, Minister for Pacific Peoples and Associate Minister of Foreign Affairs.

PCF lead/management consultant Afamasaga Jackie Curry said, "The aim of the PCF Youth Leadership Awards is to encourage and reward service leadership to benefit our communities not just in Aotearoa New Zealand, but also the Pacific region.

"Pacific people are a growing, youthful and diverse population both in New Zealand and in the Pacific region, so these awards acknowledge and encourage the contribution and achievements of our young Pacific emerging leaders as well as their families who support them," Afamasaga said.

"These exemplary youth leaders have demonstrated excellence in their fields, will in turn use their leadership abilities and skills to help give back to their communities and assist in tackling the many complex issues and challenges being faced in the Pacific region, especially in light of the effects of Covid on regional economies.

"There are ten official award categories in total, with five awards specifically set aside for Pacific students from the Pacific region studying in New Zealand, which is the special point of difference about Pacific Cooperation Foundation's Pacific Youth Leadership Awards.

The awards bring greater awareness and appreciation by the people and communities of the Pacific Islands and New Zealand, of their shared Pacific identity, history and culture, as well as shared hopes," Afamasaga said.

The 10 official award categories and winners are:

- PCF Pioneer Award, Sponsored by The Pacific Business Hub: Gibson Gala

- PCF Profit with Purpose, Sponsored by WE Accounting: Minnie Voi

- PCF Le Afi Creativity Pasifika Award, Sponsored by Pacific Media Network: Hella Rore

- Top Pacific NZ Scholar Award, Sponsored by Code Avengers: Vensel Margraff
(Highly Commended: Tiotio-Maximo Lockington)

- PCF Young Pasifika Female of Influence Award, Sponsored by Ministry for Women: Sana Ditta

- PCF Young Pasifika Male of Influence Award, Sponsored by Victoria University of Wellington: Leki Jackson-Bourke
(Highly Commended: Mose Tanielu)

- PCF Health Ambassador Award, Sponsored by Pacific Health Plus: Dr. Brittany Stanley-Wishart
(Highly Commended: Emmerson Toomaga)

- PCF Sport Ambassador Award, Sponsored by Fiso Investment Group: Lyric and Dhys Faleafaga.

- PCF Top Pasifika Cultural and Language Advocate Award, Sponsored by the Ministry for Pacific Peoples, Leulua'iali'i Satuala Christopher Tofaeono Tanuvasa

PCF also awarded two special awards:

- PCF Supreme Award for Pacific Youth Advocacy – Sponsored by the Pacific Cooperation Foundation - Aigagalefili Fepulea'i Tapua'i

- The PCF Supreme for Inclusion – Sponsored by the Pacific Cooperation Foundation - Shaneel Lal

Media Contact: Laree Taula 021 992 200

Image Top L - R: Gibson Gala, Hon. Aupito William Sio, Dr. Neru Leavasa MP for Takanini, Terisa Ngobi MP for Otaki, Leki Jackson-Bourke, Aigagalefili Fepulea'i-Tapua'i, Lric Faleafaga, Hella Rore, Emmerson Toomaga, Sana Ditta and Dr. Brittany Stanley-Wishart.

Bottom L - R: Leulua'iali'i Satuala Christopher Tofaeono Tanuvasa, Vensel Margraff, Shaneel Lal, Mose Tanielu and Minnie Voi.