News Item

​Fiji: Public Service Commission appoints new permanent secretaries

Media 7 Dec 2018

Fiji’s Public Service Commission (PSC) has, with the agreement of the Prime Minister, appointed permanent secretaries for various government ministries. PCF's outgoing CEO Craig Strong will take up the position of permanent secretary for the Ministry of Fisheries.

The officers appointed bring significant qualifications, skills and experience to the Civil Service, particularly relevant to their areas of appointment.

Ministry of Fisheries – Craig Strong

Mr. Strong was in general management, operations, and sales roles with the Vinod Patel Group companies for a number of years. From 2012 until 2017 he was the General Manager and Director of Pacific Agencies Fiji. He was recently the CEO of Pacific Cooperation Foundation, a New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs NGO leading economic and social development work in the Pacific region. Mr Strong returns to Fiji and will take up his position on 7 January 2019.

  • Ministry of Forests – Pene Baleinabuli
  • Ministry of Housing and Community Development – Sanjeeva Perera
  • Ministry of Youth and Sports – Jone Maritino Nemani
  • Ministry of Civil Service – Susan Kiran
  • Ministry of Waterways and Environment – Joshua Wycliffe

Reappointments and reassignments of Permanent Secretary positions:

  • Ministry of Employment, Productivity and Industrial Relations – Osea Cawaru
  • Ministry of Health and Medical Services – Bernadette Welch
  • Ministry of Agriculture – David Kolitagane
  • Ministry of Industry, Trade & Tourism – Shaheen Ali
  • Ministry of iTaukei Affairs – Naipote Katonitabua
  • Office of the Prime Minister, Sugar Industry & Immigration – Yogesh Karan
  • Ministry of Rural & Maritime Development – Meleti Bainimarana

Source: Fiji Times