News Item

​Leaders call for regional Ocean Science Centre

News 9 Aug 2017

Regional leaders have expressed the need and desire for a Pacific Community Centre for Ocean Science.

Pacific leaders gathered in Noumea late last month for the Pacific Community’s (SPC) 10th governing body conference, and issued the call for the centre, to be hosted at SPC - the principal scientific and technical organisation in the region.

The centre will draw on the scientific and technical expertise across the organisation’s different work programmes including fisheries and geoscience, and look to complement on-going regional efforts for the sustainable management of the Pacific region’s oceanic resources.

The decision was made as SPC’s 26 country and territory members deliberated on the strategic direction of SPC as the organisation marked its 70th year of operations.

More than 40 country and territory representatives - including several Heads of State – as well as development partners contributed to the thematic discussion centred on the theme Innovative Partnerships for Sustainable Development, with keynote addresses by the President of the Republic of Marshall Islands HE Hilda Heine; the European Union’s High-Level Facilitator for out-reach activities on the Post-Cotonou Agreement Pascal Lamy; and the Director-General of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Yukiya Amano.

In this regard, Pacific representatives congratulated SPC on its technical cooperation agreement with IAEA and encouraged further exploration of innovative partnerships to support sustainable development priorities and efforts in the region.

They recognised SPC’s achievements over the past 18 months and encouraged the organisation to continue of its path of prioritisation, with a focus on high impact areas consistent with its mandate and capabilities.

Dr Colin Tukuitonga was reappointed as Director-General of the Pacific Community for a another two-year term at the 10th conference, which concluded on with a 70th Anniversary celebration, involving its 26 member countries and territories and partners.

The Cook Islands will host the 11th Conference of the Pacific Community in 2019.

Visit SPC for more information.